For When the Pieces Just Don’t Seem to Fit

piecesI recently heard Christian music artist, Meredith Andrews, perform her song “Pieces.” She sings:

Give Him your wounds, your bruised and broken pieces
All your questions, all your secrets
You don’t have to hide who you are
You belong to someone greater
Than all your past mistakes and failures
Rested who He is
He knows how to make your pieces fit

I don’t know about you, but… I have a lot of pieces.

We are complex. How do all these pieces fit together?

As a senior in college, I’ve been asking this question a lot. God has blessed me with so many interests and opportunities. Figuring out why God has wired me this way is tough! Passions sometimes go to war for attention inside of me and there are times when I don’t know which way is up. I’ve actually asked God the question, “Why on earth did you give me all of these crazy passions?”

Each time I get to this crazy confusing point, there’s been one thing in common – I forgot that God gives me purpose.

Do you think God would mix all these passions together in one person for no good reason? I don’t. In fact, in Psalm 139:10, 13-14, 16 it says that, “… [His] hand will guide me… [He] created my inmost being; He knit me together in my mother’s womb. I praise [Him] because I am fearfully and wonderfully made. [His] works are wonderful, I know that full well… all the days ordained for me were written in [His] book before one of them came to be.” You should check out the whole Psalm. He thinks that way about you, too.

As soon as I spend more time in prayer, studying God’s word for myself, and asking others for accountability and prayer, the pieces start falling into place. No, things aren’t perfect and answers don’t come overnight. In fact, there’s still a lot of uncertainty in my life right now. The cool thing is, as long as I’m serving my Savior, I’m able to trust that He will show me exactly how all the pieces of my life fit together in due time. All our days and pieces and passions were written in God’s book before we drew our first breath. Just trust Him.

Got thoughts on this?